Close this search box.

Nautilus Scuba Club Photo Contest Winners


Nautilus Scuba Club Photo Contest Winners

Nautilus Scuba Club Cairns Annual Underwater Photographic Competition and Exhibition

The Nautilus Scuba Club Cairns, Annual Underwater Photographic Competition and Exhibition, now in its 16th year, had 407 images entered for 2023. The competition is judged by two accomplished photographers in the form of Gary Bell and Mark Spencer, supported by Cairns Regional Council and has some of the biggest names in the scuba diving industry as sponsors. All the images were displayed at the Cairns Tanks Arts Centre and had 6,000 people pass through the exhibition from the 26th July to the 20th August.

The Awards Night, attracted 120 club members, dive industry personalities and event sponsors. There were five ‘Open Categories’ (DSLRs, Mirrorless and compact cameras), where up to a maximum of three images per category can be entered. This year, Andrew Watson won both first and second place in Wide Angle. The Macro section was won by Phil Woodhead and second place went to Libby Sterling. The Portrait section was won by Kevin Coombs second place by Tracey Hale. The marine animal Behaviour themed section was won by Libby Sterling, with second place going to Ann Coombs while the Beauty of the Great Barrier Reef themed section was won by Cathie Cummins with Libby Sterling in second.

There were also two portfolio sections where five images were submitted to demonstrate the photographer’s range of skills using either a DSLR and mirrorless cameras or a compact camera. The DSLR/mirrorless camera section was won by Kevin Coombs and second place by Alison Smith. The compact camera section was won by Brian Abrook and second place going to Glenn Abbot. Additionally, there was the ‘Club Members Choice Award’ with this section won Brian Abrook and second place went to Ann Coombs. The ‘People’s Choice Award’, where the public attending the exhibition voted for their favourite was won by Emile Kuruchi and second place went to Phil Woodhead. The judges also awarded several ‘Highly Commended’ awards in all the respective sections.

The Winning Categories

Scuba 1

Kevin Coombs – Portrait 1st place. Prize donated by Coral Sea Dreaming Dive & Sail (trip for two).

Scuba 2

Andrew Watson – Wide Angle1st place Prize donated by Volivoli Beach Resort

Scuba 3

Libby Sterling – Behaviour 1st place. Prize donated by Lissenung Island Resort

Scuba 4

Phil Woodhead – Macro 1st place. Prize donated by Tufi Resort & Sharkskin

Scuba 5

Cathie Cummins – Great Barrier Reef 1st place. Prize donated by MBDE

Scuba 6

Emile Kuruchi – Peoples choice Prize donated by SSI

Scuba 7

Brian Abrook – Members Choice Prize donated by Deep Sea Divers Den

Scuba 8
Scuba 9
Scuba 10
Scuba 11
Scuba 12

Brian Abrook – Compact Portfolio. Prize donated by Walindi Plantation Resort

Scuba 13
Scuba 14
Scuba 15
Scuba 16
Scuba 17

Kevin Coombs – DLSR Portfolio Prize donated by Digital Diver & Ilelite

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments


Get a weekly roundup of all Scuba Diver news and articles Scuba Mask
We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.
Picture of Adrian Stacey
Adrian Stacey
Scuba Diver ANZ Editor, Adrian Stacey, first learned to dive on the Great Barrier Reef over 24 years ago. Since then he has worked as a dive instructor and underwater photographer in various locations around the world including, Egypt, Costa Rica, Indonesia, Thailand, Mexico and Saba. He has now settled in Australia, back to where his love of diving first began.
Latest Stories
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x