Close this search box.

Notable dive destinations now on ‘Green List’


Green List

The latest announcement by the government has seen several notable diving destinations added on to the ‘Green List' for travel.

From 4am on 30 June, people will be able to travel to these countries without the need to quarantine on their return:

Europe – Balearic Islands, Malta and Madeira

The Caribbean – Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, British Virgin Islands, the Cayman Islands, Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, and the Turks and Caicos Islands.

Bermuda has also been added to the list, along with the British Antarctic Territory, British Indian Ocean Territory, and Pitcairn.

The BVIs, the Cayman Islands, Dominica, Grenada, Barbados, Bermuda, Malta and the Balearic Islands are all known for their diving, and their move on to the ‘Green List' has been warmly welcome by the diving industry.

However, some travel industry players have said the additions do not go far enough, and question why the likes of the Greek Islands and the Canary Islands have not been added.

Transport Secretary Grand Shapps also said that the government plans to drop quarantine for fully vaccinated people returning from ‘Amber List' countries ‘later in the summer' – a vast array of diving hotspots are currently on the ‘Amber List', so this would be a massive boost for those wanting to get away for some warm-water diving.

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments


Get a weekly roundup of all Scuba Diver news and articles Scuba Mask
We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.
Picture of Mark Evans
Mark Evans
Scuba Diver's Editorial Director Mark Evans has been in the diving industry for nearly 25 years, and has been diving since he was just 12 years old. nearly 40-odd years later and he is still addicted to the underwater world.
Latest Stories
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x