HomeScuba NewsNominations Open for 2019 DAN Rolex Diver of the Year

Nominations Open for 2019 DAN Rolex Diver of the Year

Divers Alert Network (DAN) is accepting nominations for one of the most prestigious awards in diving, now through to 14 January.


Do you know someone with a passion for diving who is dedicated to establishing a culture of dive safety?

If so, they could be in the running to win the Rolex Diver of the Year Award from the Divers Alert Network (DAN), as the company is now accepting nominations.

One of the most prestigious honours in scuba diving, the award began as a generous grant to DAN from Rolex in the late 1980s. The continued relationship between DAN and Rolex gave rise to an award that’s given each year to one diver who has made significant contributions to dive safety. 

DAN is searching for an individual who has a passion for diving and is dedicated to establishing a culture of dive safety. Promising candidates will have promoted DAN’s goals of preventing and managing dive accidents and will have shown a commitment to preserving the diving environment. They will have worked to ensure that all divers are prepared to dive with proper training and well-maintained equipment. Ideal nominees will have demonstrated an ability to influence divers to follow safe practices, stay within their limits and maintain high levels of situational awareness.

The recipient will be awarded an Oyster Perpetual Rolex Dive Watch and a commemorative wall plaque in recognition of his or her work. Rolex donates $15,000 to DAN to fund this award and to support the essential safety initiatives DAN pursues through medical research, services, education and training.

Nominations should include a brief description of the nominee’s merits and contributions to dive safety. Please submit nominations via email to Garrett Broyles at no later than January 14, 2019. Nominee support materials should be submitted no later than January 28, 2019.

Once all materials are received, they will be forwarded to a selection committee for review. The committee, comprised of DAN president and CEO Bill Ziefle, senior DAN staff, at-large members and previous award winners, will make their decision by February 15, 2019 and promptly notify the recipient.

The award will be presented at the Our World-Underwater Scholarship Society® 45th Annual Awards Program on April 13, 2019, in New York.

Help DAN recognise those who work tirelessly to cultivate a culture of safety in diving — nominate a diver today.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Scuba Diver Mag Social


Scuba Diver Articles

action camera

Get to grips with your action camera with Jeff Goodman

Action Camera Underwater Video Basics shows how to capture fantastic video and turn it into engaging sequences. Small cameras such as those made by...
Shopping cart
There are no products in the cart!
Continue shopping