Close this search box.

International Scuba Diving Hall of Fame induction moves to 2021


International Scuba Diving Hall of Fame

The International Scuba Diving Hall of Fame’s milestone 20th Anniversary Induction, set to take place in the Cayman Islands on 25 September 2020, has been officially postponed to 2021.

Cayman’s borders will remain closed until 1 October 2020 in response to the COVID-19 pandemic; therefore, the International Scuba Diving Hall of Fame (ISDHF) Board of Directors and the Cayman Islands Department of Tourism (CIDOT) have made the decision to delay the 20th Induction Ceremony to ensure a proper in-person celebration can be held on-island for the Class of 2020 inductees, in lieu of a virtual event. The induction ceremony has been rescheduled for 2021 in Grand Cayman.

The ISDHF will forego extending additional invitations to potential nominees in 2021 to properly pay homage to the dive industry pioneers set to be inducted in 2020. The Class of 2020 – Tom Ingram, Jill Heinerth, Jim Gatacre and Avi Klapfer – will take centre stage at an official reception in 2021, where they will be officially recognised and inducted into the ISDHF for their accomplishments in the scuba diving community.

“While this year’s ceremony was set to be a milestone for the ISDHF, the health and safety of our honourees, guests and staff is our highest priority, and we are following the recommendations of health experts to postpone the gathering,” said Hon. Minister of Tourism, Moses Kirkconnell. “We extend our sincere appreciation to the 2020 inductees who were primed to celebrate their accomplishment this year, and we look forward to applauding their lifetime achievements safely in person next year. Our celebration in 2021 will be even more special and sincerely worth the wait!”

ISDHF officials look forward to welcoming stakeholders, esteemed guests and inductees to a ceremony that will highlight the important cultural significance of scuba diving in the Cayman Islands, and set the stage for another 20 years of empowerment, achievement and innovation.

The ISDHF was established by the Cayman Islands Ministry of Tourism in 2000 and celebrates dive industry leaders who have contributed to the success of recreational scuba diving worldwide through innovation and advancements made in the areas of dive tourism, equipment design, dive safety, inclusivity, exploration, adventure, innovation and more.

To learn more about the 2020-2021 ISDHF inductees, please visit: OFFICIAL WEBSITE OF THE INTERNATIONAL SCUBA DIVING HALL OF FAME

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments


Get a weekly roundup of all Scuba Diver news and articles Scuba Mask
We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.

Picture of Mark Evans
Mark Evans
Scuba Diver's Editorial Director Mark Evans has been in the diving industry for nearly 25 years, and has been diving since he was just 12 years old. nearly 40-odd years later and he is still addicted to the underwater world.
Latest Stories
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x