Close this search box.

Inaugural Ocean Photography Awards opens for entries


Ocean Photography Awards

Oceanographic Magazine announces the launch of its Ocean Photography Awards, that officially open today for entries from the general public. With a mission to shine a light on the threats facing the ocean and to raise money for its protection, ocean photographers of all disciplines and experience levels are invited to submit their most impactful imagery to one of the six categories – from Ocean Conservation Photographer of the Year to Young Ocean Photographer of the Year at In partnership with SeaLegacy, a collective of some of the most experienced and renowned photographers, filmmakers and storytellers working on behalf of our oceans, the awards are a celebration of our beautiful blue planet, as well as a platform to highlight the many plights it is facing.

Ocean Photography Awards

Judging panel

Being the first of its kind, the Ocean Photography Awards will be judged by a panel of some of the world’s leading ocean photographers, including International Photography Hall of Fame inductee Paul Nicklen, founder of the International League of Conservation Photographers, Cristina Mittermeier and Emmy Award-winning cinematographer Shawn Heinrichs. The six categories will be judged, with the winner of each category awarded a selection of prizes valued at a total of more than £500,000. Several career- changing opportunities are also on offer, including joining global conservation campaign group SeaLegacy for an expedition as a photographer and a one-year residency at the SeaLegacy Collective.

Ocean Photography Awards


Entrants can submit their images until 30 June 2020. Winners of the six categories – Ocean Conservation Photographer of the Year, Ocean Exploration Photographer of the Year, Ocean Adventure Photographer of the Year, Young Ocean Photographer of the Year, The Collective Portfolio Award, The Community Choice Award – and the overall winner – the Ocean Photographer of the Year 2020 – will be announced on 20 August at a gala event in London.

A stunning exhibition will follow, where all winning images will be put on public display and be free to visit.

Ocean Photography Awards

Will Harrison, editor of Oceanographic Magazine and founder of the awards, says: “The Ocean Photography Awards are very much an extension of what we strive to achieve at Oceanographic – the harnessing of striking photography to communicate important and inspiring ocean stories. We want to create something that allows people to reconnect with this beautiful blue planet of ours, to witness its staggering beauty and to wake-up to the many perils it currently faces.

“Inclusivity is a key element. These Awards are for all ocean photographers, regardless of whether they’re a diver who shoots exclusively underwater, a surfer shooting in barreling waves or a coastal rambler who captures stunning shots of shorelines. The Ocean Photography Awards are for the entire ocean community.”


Enter at before 30 June 2020.


Photo credit: Paul Nicklen, Cristina Mittermeier, Andy Mann and Paul Hilton

Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments


Get a weekly roundup of all Scuba Diver news and articles Scuba Mask
We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.
Picture of Mark Evans
Mark Evans
Scuba Diver's Editorial Director Mark Evans has been in the diving industry for nearly 25 years, and has been diving since he was just 12 years old. nearly 40-odd years later and he is still addicted to the underwater world.
Latest Stories
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x